Nehemiah 6-13

29 12 2010

I’m not going to type out all the scripture but instead comment on why I read it all. The first part (Nehemiah 6) was about rebuilding the wall, something that Jason & I had just been looking up online (rebuilding the Jewish temple) as we’re discussing the end times and whether or not there needs to be an actual rebuilt temple.  Why are we doing this?  Because we’re now questioning so much of what is currently taught in the churches we’ve attended, and has been taught to us over the last 24 years, regarding the times we live in, the things we should watch for (since Jesus clearly told His followers to watch the signs of the times) and how we should live.

We now believe that a lot of what’s being taught in today’s churches in America is wrong specifically regarding the Rapture, the 7 church ages and other related subjects on Pre-Trib Rapture and Dispensationalism.  (Well, actually we’ve never really believed it but now we’ve no remaining doubt that the concept is part of a big lie and part of the apostasy of the church.)

Primarily I mean that if the idea of a secret first rapture is not true, then so much of the surrounding teachings are incorrect. That is a specific part, but only a part of what we’ve learned in church. Much of it is about how to live as a Christian and so we will not go as far as to say the church in America is wrong about everything because it’s not.

So when I grabbed my Bible last night after discussions with Jason, both of us searching online about various things and looking up about the temple being rebuilt in Jerusalem, I needed a God-break and head clearing!

I just spoke to the Lord and said, “Lord, please talk to me, please talk to me. I want to hear what YOU want me to hear.”

That’s when I turned to Nehemiah and started with the part about opposition to rebuilding the wall in chapter 6.  I laughed (given the previous hours of studying and wondering about just that subject) and then just kept reading, all the way until the end.

Nehemiah was fervent for the Lord and His holy commands and the way He has commanded his people to act. He was a society changer, he went among the people and talked about God, he re-instated proper worship, he had them read the word aloud and remember God’s goodness. His final reforms had to do with making sure the people that served the Lord were well taken care of and that all the tithes and offerings were done properly as well as making sure the house of God was purified and all who defiled it were cast out.

For me this translated to looking at what I need to purify in myself, to throw out all wrong belief systems and find out what God really wants from me in the way of worship that is pleasing to HIM.

I know it starts with giving Him my time, prayers, honor and focus above all else. To start my day with Him, not my computer or the morning news or anything else!  To force myself to ignore the distractions of life and give Him my all.

To rebuild my OWN temple and my own wall.  I may be a watchwoman on the wall for the signs of the times but I must first watch my own wall…what is getting in, what cause wrong thinking, what ungodly influences I’m allowing into my own heart, my life AND my household.  I’m still responsible for my son (even though he’s an adult) by way of that I’m his only parent…my actions still affect him and he lives under my roof. 

That means confronting both of us when we act wrong, listening to him (because he is an adult now) when he busts me on stuff I’m doing as well.  Taking care of my health, my spirit and my psyche…the temple of the Holy Spirit.

But mostly, putting God first and watching to make sure that He is given the honor, obedience, worship and service that is fitting to give the God of all, the one who created us.  To worship Him with my whole life and my whole heart and with all my strength in a way that is pleasing to HIM.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

